I love you at the Love Statue

September 2008 my friend Angelo asked me to come to a bar with his friends, I went along with my bff Kim. Saw his friend named Hans but he was shy so he didn’t speak to me. Forward to January 2010 I ran into Hans at a bar drunk and we both kept going outside to smoke cigs and talk to each other (I think cigs are so disgusting now btw) but he was sort of seeing someone and then I met someone shortly after. My eventual bf who was this guy Rob at the time when we started dating really liked Hans (after we ran into him at my friend’s birthday at the same bar I had run into him months earlier). Rob didn’t really have friends so he sort of latched onto Hans and his friends. After Rob decided he wanted a “break” almost a year into dating I instead of waiting around like an idiot (really who would actually wait?) I thought I’d get to know Hans even more, him being single, me being single, us being friends, it just seemed to click together? Within 2 weeks of me becoming single we had our first kiss, then we were dating. Right after Christmas I had joked my ex would come back (he didn’t want to have to buy me a gift lol) he did and I couldn’t imagine going back to him even though we had dated almost a year, I was to happy as I got closer and closer to Hans. Rob my ex wasn’t happy with any of this of course but if you want to date a girl you don’t take breaks and expect her to sit around waiting lol. I wait for no one! I also hate games.

Anyway back then it was sort of dramatic but not really we more just focused on us and Rob faded away eventually. Making us official in January, I can’t remember when but let’s say March 2011 we had our first date out in NYC. We went to Carmines, then Hans claimed he wanted some meat thing from a vendor so I just followed him. It’s not that rare for someone to want to go to a certain street vendor in the city, and we only had pasta at dinner so I didn’t think anything of it. Suddenly we stopped at the love statue and Hans told me “I love you” all of my relationships I always had these crazy guys saying they loved me after a month and I never felt the same so I’d say it months later. I used to hope I’d finally date a normal guy who would say it at the right time and I’d be able to say it back. I said “I love you too” and we kissed and it was just a perfect fairy tale moment. At the time the love statue was under construction (seriously) so I didn’t take a photo of it since it wasn’t as cute. Last year I finally got one of it looking perfect! I’ll always remember that day. Remembering our whole story it’s just mind blowing how we ended up married. I spent so many years dating and dating mostly crazy guys to finally finding my perfect one. This makes me believe that every single thing in life was meant to be and lead up to this moment. If I hadn’t dated Rob I might not have gotten closer to Hans. There is a chance we could have run into each other again but who knows (technically we did at my girl’s birthday and Hans was single by then but if I wasn’t with Rob maybe we would have ended up at some other bar, with some other plan, who knows).

12479553_434712740056492_612059276_n

Leave a Reply

